PROTEIN BALLS

YUMMY YUMMY PROTEIN BALLS

protein balls

I make on the weekend and take to work to eat as a snack!

So I have been making these for months and months and just keep forgetting to blog about them! UNTIL I made them for one of the girls I am helping and she wanted the recipe so I said I would share them on my blog!

Russell and I eat these things up! I get so excited about eating them (I know, that is a little sad) ha!

I usually try to make these on the weekend so that we have them for the week! They are so great to grab on the go! We take them to work and leave them in the fridge for our snacks. I have even eaten these for breakfast some days when I just don’t have time! They are sweet tooth satisfying, feel me up, and give me the extra protein I need after a hard workout!

Anyways, we eat them so much that I have to make “protein balls” for the boys to eat. I use all of the same ingredients except I leave out the protein powder! Below are the ingredients I use but feel free to play with it and change them up! I have put pecans and walnuts in them before as well as heath bar chips that I had left over! 

Ingredients:

1/2 cup of shredded coconut 

1 to 1 1/2 cups of raw old-fashioned oats

2 scoops of whey protein powder (I use vanilla flavor)

 1/4 cup of ground flax-seed

1/2 to 1 cup of creamy peanut butter

1/2 to 1 cup of PB2 mixed up

semi-sweet, milk chocolate, dark chocolate mini or regular size morsels (I use whatever I have in the house) the amount really depends on how much chocolate you want in there! I estimate I use about 1/2 cup to 1 cup

Directions:

Put coconut, oats, flax-seed and chocolate morsels all in a bowl and stir up then add your peanut butter. I usually end up using my hands to mix it together. Once I am done I roll them into balls and store them in a Ziploc bag or an air tight container in the fridge! Our usually don’t make it longer than a week but I have eaten them after sitting around 2 weeks in the fridge and they were fine!

I can’t tell you exact measurements because I just toss and go! When I am making it I add a little more here and there to the consistency of what we like. I will say you do want a good bit of peanut butter because they will be dry if not- though still good! Don’t add to much peanut butter because then they are too sticky! I really love the PB2 in it and think you will to! I usually use more PB2 and less regular peanut butter to help reduce the calories so feel free to play with it!

As far as nutrition I don’t know how much they have- it depends on how big each ball you make is as well as how much you put of each ingredient! The PB2 really slashes the calories!

1 to 1 1/2 oats – 300-450 calories

coconut – 280ish 

2 scoops of protein powder – 200ish

flax seed-  194

1 cup of creamy peanut butter – 1,518

1 cup of PB2 (prepared) – 360ish

semi-sweet morsels – 1/2 cup 400ish 

estimated total calories of the entire batch: 3,400 calories –  I make around 20 balls (rather large too) and so that makes them about 170 each

The calories are just an estimate! Depending on how much you use the calories can go less or more! If you could do all PB2 it would really slash some calories! I haven’t been brave enough yet to try it simply because of time! I have to make these really quick while Grey is napping or right before bed! Nobody wants to deal with a mess up with that going on right?!? BUT eventually I do want to see how the strictly PB2 ones taste!

I hope you enjoy these as much as we do!

Leave a Reply

