Crock Pot Mexican Breakfast Casserole by Sugar Free Mom

Okay so on my search for crock pot meals THAT ACTUALLY TASTE YUMMY I found another! 

Sugar Free Mom has a great breakfast crock pot recipe!

Okay so, it says 2 1/2 hours or 5 hours…hmm either of those were not good for me! I mean if I need the food ready by 6:00 or 6:30 that means I have to get up in the middle of the night and fix it. NOW some of you get up at 4:00 a.m already so this would be perfect for you but I sleep until the last-minute I can! So what did I do? The night before I cooked the sausage and mixed in the seasonings, salsa, and cheese. I sprayed the crock pot with Pam and greased it with a touch of butter so it wouldn’t stick and put the sausage/cheese mixture in the crock pot. I mixed the eggs and milk and put in a Tupperware container. Then I put the crock pot and the Tupperware in the fridge. That way all I had to do was stir the eggs once more and place in the crock pot and hit start! I was planning on starting it after I fed the baby at the 12:00 feeding but Russell stayed up and fed the baby AND started the crock-pot for me so I could get a little more sleep than 1 1/2 to 2 hours straight! Good hubby, RIGHT?!?! He has been quite helpful with Grey and the boys! He is definitely making having 3 kids easier on me. So Russ started the crock pot at 1:00 am and set it for 5 hours….WELLLL the boys actually SLEPT..I MEAN ALL OF THEM SLEPT past 6:00!! So I didn’t wake up but the crock pot kept it warm until we all got up. This was quite delicious and the crock pot wasn’t hard to clean after! NOW, do I think it would taste better if I woke up at 4:00 am made everything just like the recipe said and then hit start, YES! BUT nobody is waking up around here to do that! SO I adjusted it a touch and it still came out great! I also thought this would be good for Saturday or Sunday mornings, I tend to stay up later on Friday and Saturday nights AND the boys don’t have to eat breakfast early. So I could wake up at 6:00 make it and we could eat by 8:30! I didn’t top ours with anything because HEY its the weekday and nobody has time to top with all that! Now on the weekend, different story! BUT I think the toppings would make it extra delicious! It kept me full all morning and the boys ate it as well!

So I simply leave you with “YOUR WELCOME”

Ingredients
  • 12 ounces sausage 
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 cup salsa
  • 10 eggs
  • 1 cup milk, ( I used 1%)
  • 1 cup Pepper Jack cheese or cheese of choice
  • Optional toppings: sour cream. avocado, salsa, cilantro
Instructions
  1. In a large skillet over medium heat, cook the pork sausage until no longer pink.
  2. Add seasonings and salsa. Set aside to cool slightly.
  3. In a another bowl whisk the eggs and milk.
  4. Add the pork to the eggs, then add the cheese and stir to combine.
  5. Grease the bottom of the crock pot and pour in mixture.
  6. Cover and cook on high 2 1/2 hours or low 5 hours.
  7. Enjoy with optional toppings.

Check out her website! She has lots of recipes that look AMAZING! I have a few of hers I will be trying soon and will post my favorites here!

Click the link below for recipe and nutrition info:

http://www.sugarfreemom.com/recipes/crock-pot-mexican-breakfast-casserole-low-carb-gluten-free/

Leave a Reply

