Healthy Overnight Slow Cooker Oatmeal

I came across this a few weeks ago when finding some slow cooker recipes for after baby! I tried this last week and it was a hit! 

I made mine at 8:00 pm and had it start cooking at 10:00 pm so it would be ready by 6:00 AM. I checked on it when I was up at the 3:00 AM feeding for Grey and you could have eaten it then, it was great! I didn’t have steel-cut oats I used old-fashioned (I don’t know if that is the same or not) I used raisins instead of cranberries and cooked them in the mixture for 8 hours. I didn’t use the maple syrup because I forgot. Russell and I ate this plain but I added brown sugar to the boys bowls to sweeten it up. They all enjoyed it! I hate raisins and I didn’t mind them at all in this! Next time I just want to make it plain and then about 20 minutes before I serve it pop in some fresh blueberries or strawberries! I quadrupled the recipe since I have such a large crock pot!

I must say it was quite nice to wake up and everybody could start eating! I fed the baby and didn’t worry about scrambling around, Russell got to eat breakfast, have coffee, and read some of his magazine instead of cooking breakfast and it made the morning so much easier! The only downside is the cleaning it, quite sticky! I think I will try the liners for the crock  pot next time and see how it does to make it easier to clean!

Click below to take you to the recipe, see the nutritional info:

http://www.thegraciouspantry.com/clean-eating-slow-cooker-cinnamon-cranberry-walnut-oatmeal/

Leave a Reply

