The days are long but the years are short!

Have you ever looked at older people and thought about what life will be like at that age? How will you feel? What will you regret? What will you cherish? What will actually be important at that age?

I do. I look and listen to the older ones around me and I want to take care of my body so that at 60 I am not having “hopefully” major issues. I have heard older people say:  they wish they would have taken better care of their bodies (includes skin and face) that they would have not worried about all the little silly things, they would have done a few more things they wanted to do, and so on.

I look at the older people who wish they could get down in the pool and play with their grandkids and great grand kids, I see the people on walkers or limping, I see people having trouble just getting off the ground and all of them say Man I wish I was young so I could spring around like that again! TAKE ADVANTAGE NOW! Be so grateful for what you can do now! Go snow skiing, waterskiing, parasailing or swimming with the dolphins! Do whatever you can do while you can do it!! Hike a mountain while you can, go canoeing and sleep in a tent. Because when you 50, 60, 70, 80 sleeping in a tent isn’t so appealing anymore! Do things while you can!

Make the most of your life! That way when you are older you can sit back and have no complaints. I have a checklist of things I want to do before I get old – I have reached a lot of them already! I workout and eat healthy so I can get down on the ground with my grand-kids, I make memories with my kids and try to enjoy every little moment because time is short…as they say the days are long but the years are short!

I am sure I will have some regrets and thoughts but I want them to be as few as possible. I want to sit in my rocking chair with my husband beside me, glass of tea or whiskey 😉 in my hand looking back on my life and  say DAMN, I lived a really good life! I think I am headed in that direction because I can go home tonight sit in a chair with my husband and say DAMN, I AM LIVING A REALLY GOOD LIFE! 

Leave a Reply

