What have you been doing? You haven’t gained any weight! You are too skinny you need to eat!

Russell and I at Fireman's Ball this December!

Russell and I at Fireman’s Ball!  I was around 21/22 weeks pregnant during this photo! December 2014

What have you been doing? You haven’t gained any weight! You are too skinny you need to eat! Are you still running? Or are you going to the gym? These are some of the statements from this pregnancy. Well, I have been doing A LOT – two kids, work, husband, getting my house plans in order, etc… Next, I have actually gained weight around 7/8 pounds as of now. Next, I am not skinny (lets rephrase that). No I tried to run but it hurt my belly and felt uncomfortable. Yes, I am going to the gym. 

I have had people asking me what I am doing during my pregnancy to stay fit. Well, it has been very difficult. I just got on a good schedule thanks to a friend picking up Beck and bringing him to me in the afternoons at work. Before then I had to squeeze in a workout whenever possible and right now with my schedule I have not quiet 30 mins to squeeze a workout in…hey it is better than nothing! When I wasn’t pregnant I could at least squeeze in a HIIT and get a good workout in 30 mins.  I have been aiming for 20 mins on the StairMaster elliptical, or treadmill(walking). I have been trying to squeeze in some toning/weights if I can as well. For the next two weeks while I have the boys at home, I will be exhausted and have little time to workout. OHHHH and the gym is only open from 11:30-1:30 (don’t even get me started)! SO I will be doing some of my PiYo dvd’s, walking/strolling with the boys, doing squats in my living room, push-ups – whatever I can get in, when I get it in! MOM!!! May be getting a phone call, ha!  It really is easier when I am not pregnant because I could just bust out a HIIT at home and be done in around 20/30 mins! But besides my little bit of working out, I haven’t been able to eat as clean and healthy as I like because my stomach is all funky acting. I am still drinking Cokes or eating carbs but I am just trying to watch my proportions when I eat them!

According to my pregnancy journal, at this point in my pregnancy with Beck I had gained 20 pounds, Noah 5 pounds, and this time I am 7 pounds. Each one has been very different. With Beck  I was constantly throwing up and I was drinking/eating whatever to make me feel better (I was even walking around 3 miles a day if I could stomach it) I worked out with Beck up until the end doing the elliptical but the swelling just got so bad that it hurt to stand on my feet because it was like I had rubber-bands twisted around my legs and ankles, they would start tingling/get that numb feeling so at the end it was about keeping my legs up above me head 24/7 (yep even when I slept they had to be propped up). The last two weeks I had gained around 16 pounds in water weight and  my blood pressure was 147-crazy high for me (didn’t write the bottom number down) he said I was borderline toxemia and that it was best to induce me the next day. I estimated around 35 pounds gained with Beck, if I took off the fluid. I was so swollen that after surgery (which makes you swell even more) I had depleted on Magnesium and such while trying to shed all the water. Beck was all over the place in my stomach so as far as carrying him, it wasn’t painful. Noah I had a little swelling but nothing much at all and I gained a total of 21 pounds the day before I went in for my section. I didn’t get to workout with Noah because I had to work and Beck was at home so there was absolutely no time to work out but I was running around chasing him and I had no appetite. I just couldn’t eat. Everyday I would force myself to eat. I was sick with Noah in the beginning but kept a weird stomach the entire pregnancy. Noah was in a bad position, he was very quiet and still so he didn’t move much- he got in his position and stayed but the position he was in really was painful for me. This pregnancy I was sick and gained around 5 pounds the first trimester alone because it was carbs, carbs, carbs trying to make myself feel better. In the 2nd trimester I am starving but nothing is sitting right with me. I am carrying low again but I am not like I was in pain with Noah. Baby G has been moving around like a wild man and I think that helps!  What am I trying to say…each pregnancy is different! I carried the three boys similar but different. I was sick with all 3 but different levels of sick and at different times it ended. They acted different in my belly and different ligaments/joint/muscles hurt. My hips spread wider or less, my boobs were bigger or smaller – the list goes on….they are all different. 

Don’t put too much pressure on your size, weight, or looks. I do keep a journal while I am pregnant that I try to write how I am feeling, whats happening, my weight. I think its good to keep an eye on your weight just so you know if you start getting way out of hand with the Cheetos at 11:00 pm. Each pregnancy is different – you will look and feel different with every one! Enjoy this moment in your life and love your body for what it is doing! You are creating a life! Your body is actually making another human and it is a lot of work! Be proud of what your body is accomplishing and know that yes your hips are wider, boobs are a little lower, stretch marks, whatever….are all totally worth it! AND that weight…it will come off! You will workout and get yourself back totally in a year! Give your body time to recoup and adjust! Just stick with it hard and by a year you will be back to feeling like your old self again!

Don’t let anyone body shame you! Doesn’t matter if it’s now or after your baby! Yes I may gain or not gain or whatever but I just had a kid or about to have a kid – I am definitely not at my best! People thought with Noah that I should have just shed that weight immediately because I wasn’t very big….um hello I still had around 8 pounds to lose after he was born and that’s not easy..it took me almost a year to get those 8 pounds off. I worked out twice a day most days during the summer, I was getting up at night with a baby, working, and being a mom to a 3 year old….I am not going to pop out a kid and the next day be back to my original weight no matter what I gained! AND afterwards don’t let anybody let you think you should be back to your movie star status at 4 months or even 6 months! It took 9 months for this to happen to you so give your body at least 9 months to recover!

I have no clue how far along I was in this photo - I was pregnant with Beck!

I have no clue how far along I was in this photo – I was pregnant with Beck!

This was taken on a Wednesday night and I delivered Noah on that Friday!

This was taken on a Wednesday night and I delivered Noah on that Friday!

Prego with Noah - this is the night before we went in! I had just finished helping a friends daughter with cheerleading tryouts! HaHa  think that is what sent me into labor.

Prego with Noah – this is the night before we went in! I had just finished helping a friends daughter with cheerleading tryouts! HaHa think that is what sent me into labor.

4 thoughts on “What have you been doing? You haven’t gained any weight! You are too skinny you need to eat!

  1. So that pic of you and your husband is basically you currently? You look amazing! And yes,the stupid comments from others was definitely the worst part of being pregnant. Shut up people! Lol!

    • Yes that’s me this month and thank you! I appreciate it! Ha ha – yes there seems to always be stupid comments from people – they always want to give advice or whatever when your pregnant! I try to just take it nicely and move on …for the most part 😉 ha!!

Leave a Reply

