Live Like You Were Dying – Tim McGraw

This song is old I know …only like 10 years old but it is just a really good song!

Time can pass really slow when you are young but the older you get the faster is passes you by. We never know how much time we really have on this earth. What if you found out that you were dying this week? What all would you do or say? Life is short and we should live it like we are dying. We should tell people we love them. We should laugh as much as possible. Spend time with those people who matter most and do things that we have always wanted to do.

What would I do? I would create. I would quit my job and just create all sorts of stuff (paintings, pottery, dresses, etc..) I would go snow skiing and I would go to the beach as much as possible. I would spend as many hours as I could  with all my family. I would lay in the bed and watch movies with Russell. I would buy a white horse and ride her out in the country. 

I do those things now but very rarely just because my life is so hectic with small children. BUT I need to do them MORE! I need to let all this crap that doesn’t matter go! I need to do what I really want to do!

I am going to try my best to start living my life like I am dying. I want to live everyday happy and glad to be alive! Not just making it through day to day.

So here is my challenge to you. Make a list of what all you would do if you knew you were dying. NOW you have a YEAR – GO! Go do everything that is on that list!!!!! OR at least start checking it off!!!

Go appreciate this glorious day! This gift that has been given to us!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_9TShlMkQnc

above is the youtube link

Tim McGraw – Live Like You Were Dying Lyrics

http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/timmcgraw/livelikeyouweredyin.html

He said I was in my early 40’s,
With a lot of life before me,
And a moment came that stopped me on a dime.
I spent most of the next days, lookin’ at the x-rays,
Talkin’ ’bout the options and talkin’ ’bout sweet time.
Asked him when it sank in, that this might really be the real end.
How’s it hit ya, when you get that kind of news.
Man what ya do.
And he says,

I went sky divin’,
I went rocky mountain climbin’,
I went 2.7 seconds on a bull name Fumanchu.
And I loved deeper,
And I spoke sweeter,
And I gave forgiveness I’ve been denying,
And he said someday I hope you get the chance,
To live like you were dyin’.

He said I was finally the husband,
That most the time I wasn’t.
And I became a friend a friend would like to have.
And all the sudden goin’ fishing,
Wasn’t such an imposition.
And I went three times that year I lost my dad.
Well I finally read the good book,
And I took a good long hard look at what I’d do
If I could do it all again.
And then.

Like tomorrow was a gift and you’ve got eternity
To think about what you do with it,
What could you do with it, what can
I do with with it, what would I do with it.

Sky divin’,
I went rocky mountain climbin’,
I went 2.7 seconds on a bull name Fumanchu.
And I loved deeper,
And I spoke sweeter,
And I watched an eagle as it was flyin’.
And he said someday I hope you get the chance,
To live like you were dyin’.

To live like you were dyin’.
To live like you were dyin’.
To live like you were dyin’.
To live like you were dyin’.


Leave a Reply

