I am not in competition with you! I am only competing against myself!

Do you ever get people who feel like they have to compete with you?

They feel like they have to one up you on anything and everything. They have to bake a better cake than you, they have to workout harder than you, they have read more books than you, if you are a size 6 they are a 4, they are smarter than you on every subject, they can give a speech better, their kids are better, their husband or wife is better etc…

 AND you just want to scream I AM NOT IN COMPETITION WITH YOU!!!!

I know how it feels. Isn’t it exhausting? 

I go through most of my life not competing with others. I am who I am because I want to be that or do that. I compete with myself alone. I don’t look at this girl next to me and say I want to do that because she is doing that. I don’t say I want to run a 10 minute mile because that person is running a 10 minute mile. I got to a 10 minute mile because I wanted to get their myself! That was a personal goal of just making my self better. When I do things I do them for me! 

If you are a person who competes against others for the wrong reason please stop it. It is exhausting. Stop competing with everyone else and start competing with yourself. If your last run was  a 9:45 second run try to make it 9:40 the next time! Do what is best for you! You are not in competition with anyone else but yourself. All you need to beat is your previous goals. Don’t worry about smashing someone else goals. That is their goals you are smashing not  yours. I KNOW I will never win a triathlon or half- marathon BUT I do have my little personal goals! I don’t try to capture others dreams. I just capture my dreams (which was to just cross the finish line for my first ones). 

Competition is healthy but some take it to the next level. Stop competing and trying to be bigger and better than people around you. Keep focused on yourself!!!

One thought on “I am not in competition with you! I am only competing against myself!

Leave a Reply

