The dogs days are over — thanks Florence!

One of my favorite songs is by Florence and the Machine – “Dog Days Are Over”

I love running to this song it gets me energized and feeling powerful! I think we can get different meanings from this song but I use this song to push me further. The DOG DAYS ARE OVER  to me means the suck day if over now run that shit out! RUN FAST FOR YOUR MOTHER, FATHER,  SISTER, BROTHER, CHILDREN, HUSBAND, FRIENDS. This song makes me think of all my loved ones out there and how I want to do my best for them! It motivates me to run harder and faster. I am not only running or exercising for myself but for these people. I push myself not only for me but for others around me! I want to show people it can be done. I want to show them you can be healthy. I want to show them it isn’t just about running faster or harder for exercise but running harder and  faster for ANY goal you want to reach! I want to inspire happiness, love, a healthy lifestyle, and setting/reaching goals.

Also I think this song connects with us because at some point in all of our lives we find ourselves a little depressed. We may be having a suck day, suck month, or suck year. We cover those feelings and pretend there is happiness when there really may not be. Figure out why you are unhappy. Figure out what you need to do to make your life what you want. Are you looking at others longing for their life? First off don’t! You have no idea what their life is truly like, you are just seeing the outside of it. Yes someone may have millions of dollars but you don’t know what truly happens behind the scenes. They could be just as unhappy as you are. We tend to want what we don’t have. We want this or that and once we get it we are over it. WHY? because it is material items! These things cannot make you happy. Sure if you are a happy person it can make your life a little better but you can’t rely on the material things in life. Be happy with YOUR LIFE and don’t look at others in envy! If you envy someone because of their bodies – solve it by simply eating healthier and exercising. If you envy someone because of their work schedule find a job that suits you better. BUT don’t try to copy someone else’s life. YOU ARE NOT THEM! YOU ARE  YOU!!!! BE YOU!!! BE THE BEST YOU!!!  You can work out and eat healthy but you may have a different body type than say Cindy Crawford so don’t try to be Cindy try to be YOU – the best YOU! Keep it real! Once you come to terms with loving yourself and your life then you can make your life what you want it to be. HAPPY! 

I also think this song can help when getting rid of baggage in your life. You went from these suck days to having better days and sometimes you may have to run….run far, run hard, run fast from what it is bringing you down. It could be your Father bringing you down and when I say bring your down I MEAN bring you down. Being a teacher I see a lot of students with baggage. Sometimes I see students that honestly need to RUN. They need to get the hell out of there as fast as possible. Their lives of drug dealing family members, no love, and an insane lifestyle is hard for a person to survive in and become a better person. SO the best thing they can do it RUN. RUN FAST AND RUN FAR as soon as they can!!

Listen to this song and see how it hits home for you. Like I said I use it as a push! I run and achieve for not only me but for those loved ones of mine!! Use it to push you! Push you to get our of your slump, change your lifestyle and just be a better you!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iWOyfLBYtuU

youtube link above for the dog days are over!

“Dog Days Are Over” by Florence and the Machine

Happiness hit her like a train on a track
Coming towards her stuck still no turning back
She hid around corners and she hid under beds
She killed it with kisses and from it she fled
With every bubble she sank with her drink
And washed it away down the kitchen sink

The dog days are over
The dog days are done
The horses are coming
So you better run

Run fast for your mother, run fast for your father
Run for your children, for your sisters and brothers
Leave all your love and your longing behind
You can’t carry it with you if you want to survive

The dog days are over
The dog days are done
Can you hear the horses?
‘Cause here they come

And I never wanted anything from you
Except everything you had and what was left after that too, oh
Happiness hit her like a bullet in the back
Struck from a great height by someone who should know better than that

The dog days are over
The dog days are done
Can you hear the horses?
‘Cause here they come

Run fast for your mother, run fast for your father
Run for your children, for your sisters and brothers
Leave all your love and your longing behind
You can’t carry it with you if you want to survive

The dog days are over
The dog days are done
Can you hear the horses?
‘Cause here they come

The dog days are over
The dog days are done
The horses are coming
So you better run

lyrics from azlyrics
2 thoughts on “The dogs days are over — thanks Florence!

  1. Isn’t it crazy the meaning a song can hold? I loved how music got me through the last little but of my last marathon. Such great memories with those songs and the hills of San Francisco!

Leave a Reply

