I get what I want because of..simply…HARD WORK – it does pay off!!

I am a go getter! I just am! I have always marched to the beat of my own drum and done what I want to do and get what I want to get. I have been accused over the years that Rivers gets whatever Rivers wants. Nope not necessarily all true. First off I am not spoiled materialistically by any means! I grew up on budget, shopped at low budget stores, drove crap cars, shoveled manure and loaded hay – definitely not materialistically spoiled. I didn’t get every Barbie when I wanted or every cute shirt when I wanted it. I never got to go to a boutique and a buy a shirt until I was in college and I had used my lifeguarding money to purchase it. Then my mom would randomly buy me a reasonably priced shirt from a boutique every once in a while. The one time I can remember going to a boutique and buying “a lot” of stuff was in New Orleans my sophomore year of college. My mom, my friend, her mom, and me all went together. My mom walked into a boutique and dropped some cash on me. I was freaking out the whole time telling mom no to put the jeans back up etc… but she bought it all. I still have ALL the outfits so that I can pass them on to my daughter if I ever have one- ha! I also still wear those jeans and always think of that time – the only time in my life I have dropped some major cash on outfits! So I am spoiled but not really. My mom spoiled me with attention rather than material items. She paid attention and listened which is what all kids need from their parents growing up. Isn’t that what a parent should do? I was discussing it with her the other day and I get what I want not because people give it to me but because I go after it. If I want something I make it happen. Nobody can train and run my half-marathon or triathlon for me, I go after it and get it myself. Nobody can create my art for me, I am the one who creates and produces. Nobody opened my art studio or did my art shows for me.  When I was looking for a job closer to home I went after it and found a new job that met my criteria. I can go on and on.

Rivers gets what Rivers wants because she makes it happen!

Don’t be jealous, mad, exasperated or whatever because I make something of my life. IT IS HARD WORK! I see something I want and go get it! I may not succeed the first time but I keep going until I do….and that is was separates me from other people. Perseverance. I would wake up at 6:00 go to work come home, exercise, cook supper, and then head out to the studio to produce until 10:00 or 11:00 at night. I worked in the middle of  July and August from 8:00 until 3:00 with no air and in the sun when glazing to produce. In one summer I produced over 300 pieces of pottery all from hand. NOBODY did that for me! I DID IT! So I don’t need anybody trying to take that away from me. I work my ass off to have this life. It is good because I want a good life. I work hard to have a good life. I work hard to be a good mom who listens, laughs, loves and has as much patience as possible with a lot of fun thrown in. I work hard to keep my relationship with my husband what it was the day we married. I work hard on my body so that I feel comfortable and confident. I can easily be lazy and not work at any of this which means my life wouldn’t be quite so grand. I know that with hard work comes good things. Things that are worth working for. Stop looking over at the person next you and hating or wishing you had their life. It didn’t necessarily come easy for them…some it may have..but have you checked in on that?? You may think it was handed to them when in all reality they worked their ass off for it! I don’t get to sit on my couch all day or hell even at night and just do nothing. I am doing something 24/7. Getting what you want or having the life you want isn’t an easy task. It is hard work.

If you want a certain life go get it! Quit hating/blaming/being jealous of others for what they are doing. I only focus on Rivers. My wants in life are what I want for me and my family NO OTHER REASON. Once I decide it needs to be done, it will happen. I will push myself and anyone around me to do their best because we can all do what we want if you work hard enough. I am not the smartest girl on the earth but I read and try to make myself more intelligent. I wasn’t born handed it all. I didn’t come out of my moms womb with a 34 on the ACT or the perfect body. I came out Rivers, the silly girl, who is creative, crafty and a good artist, loves and is really good at baking, super curvy body which is kept somewhat in check by exercise, loud mouth that says anything, loves big and is very loyal, oh and it so happens I am a good motivator. I have good things and I have bad things.  I make myself better by working on myself and achieving my goals. IF I want to run a half-marathon I will. If I want to get my Master’s I will. If I want to have my own art show I will.

Bottom line nobody gives me my life.  I make what I want to happen in my life. I get what I want because I make it happen. Nobody else. I work my ass off for what I have. I never stop going. I don’t sit on my butt while the world is going on around me. I get out and make things happen for my life.

IF I WANT IT, THEN YES I WILL GET IT! BUT ONLY because I will WORK MY ASS OFF FOR IT! NOW picture what it is you want and decide to go after it! AND for those of you who already go after it and create the life you want then I applaud you. Don’t let the haters get you down. Just turn around and smile at them while you keep on living the life you live. Knowing they are only hating to make themselves feel better. More power to you and keep going – being the BEST YOU CAN BE!!

I can’t help but going back to Katy Perry’s song ROAR. I am a champion. I went from ZERO to my own HERO! I am a fighter. You held me down but I got up.  – Her song says it all!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2BipdFwipqE

“Roar” from azlyrics.com

I used to bite my tongue and hold my breath
Scared to rock the boat and make a mess
So I sat quietly, agreed politely
I guess that I forgot I had a choice
I let you push me past the breaking point
I stood for nothing, so I fell for everythingYou held me down, but I got up (HEY!)
Already brushing off the dust
You hear my voice, you hear that sound
Like thunder gonna shake the ground
You held me down, but I got up (HEY!)
Get ready ’cause I’ve had enough
I see it all, I see it now[Chorus]
I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Louder, louder than a lion
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
You’re gonna hear me roarNow I’m floating like a butterfly
Stinging like a bee I earned my stripes
I went from zero, to my own heroYou held me down, but I got up (HEY!)
Already brushing off the dust
You hear my voice, you hear that sound
Like thunder gonna shake the ground
You held me down, but I got up (HEY!)
Get ready ’cause I’ve had enough
I see it all, I see it now

[Chorus]
I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Louder, louder than a lion
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
You’re gonna hear me roar
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
You’ll hear me roar

Oh oh oh oh oh oh
You’re gonna hear me roar…Ro-oar, ro-oar, ro-oar, ro-oar, ro-oarI got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Louder, louder than a lion
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
You’re gonna hear me roar
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
You’ll hear me roar
Oh oh oh oh oh oh
You’re gonna hear me roar…

http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/katyperry/roar.html

2 thoughts on “I get what I want because of..simply…HARD WORK – it does pay off!!

Leave a Reply

