LIVE YOUR LIFE and get those 80’s movies out of your head!

Have you ever noticed that a lot of times we make things differently than how it really is. I am serious. As little girls, teenagers, and even adults we watch these movies and read these books that fill our heads with how life SHOULD be. We think that our men in our lives don’t love us if they don’t chase after us, grab us and kiss us with passion. We think our guys should stand outside our window playing a guitar or play a love song for us on their boombox. We picture in our head these kisses in the rain with a musical score in the background and then we get all disappointed when all of that doesn’t necessarily happen. We see these movies and think okay my life has to be like that! JUST LIKE THAT! It is in your head how you think your life needs to go and then you get dissapointed when it doesn’t go like that! Your life could be going great but since you have this stuck in your head you think it is going badly! You think…I need to be skinny, pretty, smart, stay at home mom, and he needs to be a fit, handsome, witty, intelligent, financial advisor who makes a lot of money. We will marry and have 2 kids, a boy and a girl. We will live in this perfect house  imagined in your head and life will be perfect every single day! You will wake up singing everyday and just have the best life! 

UMMMMMM WHATTT?!?!?!?!? Okay that is not reality! First off, are we perfect? NO! I have a few sun spots or dry skin, I have a little extra layer fat here and there, I am loud, and I say things before I think! My husband, is he perfect? NO! My kids, are they perfect? NO! So guess what, my life isn’t going to be perfect! Just because Russell isn’t outside my window on his lawn mower professing his love for me doesn’t mean he doesn’t love me (thanks you damn 80’s movies for giving false hope) NO I won’t climb on the back of his lawn mower and we ride off into the sunset…because welllll that is just dumb in real life! NO I am not going to have this perfect body that you see on the movies! I am working really hard to have a better body each day, but it will never be absolutely perfect ….I will get as close as I can though 😉  

You know what life is really like….3:30 baby is crying, 4:30 4-year-old in your bed, Alarm at 5:00 or 6:00 am, COFFEE, milk/breakfast for kids and you, dressed for work and school (absolute chaos) WORK 7:50 to 3:00 or 5:00 for some, meetings, community activities, grueling workout (maybe at 5:00 am, 12:00 pm, 3 pm, 5 pm, or 8:30 pm) make dinner, eat dinner, clean up dinner, homework, baths, bedtime routines where your kids gets up about 3 times before they actually go to sleep and somewhere in between all that there is usually a breakdown of some sorts from one of the kids. Life is crazy and hectic, it is far from perfect. I accept that! I don’t think my life is going to be this fairy-tale movie where I am a size 3, my husband does nothing irritating, my kids behave correctly without asking and I am filthy rich so I have no cares in the world. The thing is I wouldn’t trade my life for a movie life! My life is perfect with all of its un-perfectness. My house is alive, my life is REAL! Life… some days are easy and some days are hard but I am realistic and know what to expect. I am not setting my life up in my head as it should be. I just let my life be! I let it be what it is!  I must say though my life is pretty perfect to me! But I am realistic and I know that my kids will act a fool at some point, I know my husband may make me mad, I know that no matter how much I workout I am still a work in progress.

I enjoy every moment because I tell myself to enjoy it! I wake up and make my mind up that I will be happy! I don’t focus on the negative, I try to focus on the good. I am thankful for my hectic and messy life! I am in control of my life! I have the power to be a happy person or a negative person! I have the power to enjoy my life to the fullest! Stop trying to live in an 80’s movie or ANY movie and LIVE YOUR LIFE!! Your life is PERFECT even with all of the un-perfectness! Set realistic goals for your life! AND don’t plan everything out! IF I planned everything out for example: My husband will be tall, dark, handsome, construction worker and he has to have these certain characteristics…I may could end up missing the love of my life! Don’t get me wrong it is good to know what you want…like a guy who likes kids and so forth BUT as far as saying I want a guy just like Ryan Gosling – you are setting yourself up! You will miss the wonderful guy because you weren’t open to REAL life! That wonderful guy could have been YOUR perfect guy, the one who brings you surprise flowers, makes you breakfast, LOVES you, and hell who even you want to slap at some points, lol!

REAL life is much better than the movie life!! YOU are the one who makes your REAL life awesome! YOU are the one who decides you life and how it will go! Be realistic with what life is! Don’t freak out when life doesn’t go exactly as you planned because those plans of yours aren’t necessarily what God’s plans are…..and we know who has the right plans!

                                        

               

 

Leave a Reply

