Smothered Pig in a Blanket – Under 200 calories by the Hungry Girl

Okay so I made these Tuesday night! I served with sweet potato fries (recipe a few post back, look under healthy eating). The boys liked them, but next time I make these I will just eat them without the chili – of course the boys will still have chili! I just found that I have been so use to eating pretty clean and healthy this was a bit much for me (not for the boys). Afterwards I ate some fruit and carrots because my body was acting a bit like it was overloaded. This recipe is LIGHT but that doesn’t mean it is healthy! Sodium in just the hot dog was 500 mgs. So I think next time I will skip the chili so I won’t feel quite as blah. It was good and I did feel almost guilty eating it because I couldn’t tell it was a light version of it! I do think this is a good trick if you are dying for a fattening meal but don’t want to blow your calories out of the water!

I used Hebrew National Beef Franks – 100 calories per hot dog. I used shredded cheese because I had that so why not use it, right?!? 

Hungry Girl Smothered Pig in a Blanket (Hungry Girl Cookbook)

Ingredients

1 fat free (or nearly fat free) hot dog
1 serving Pillsbury Reduced Fat Crescent Rolls refrigerated dough
½ slice fat free cheddar cheese (cut slice diagonal so your half is triangle shaped)
¼ cup low fat veggie chili

Preheat oven to 375. Stretch or roll out the triangle shaped dough slightly, to make it a larger triangle. Lay cheese triangle at the base of the dough. Place hot dog at the base and gently roll it up. Place your blanketed pup in a baking pan sprayed lightly with nonstick cooking spray. Bake in the oven for 12-14min, until dough appears slightly browned and crispy. Meanwhile, in the microwave, heat chili. Once your pup is fully cooked, plate it and top it with chili

PER SERVING (entire recipe): 196 calories, 5.25g fat, 950mg sodium, 24g carbs, 2.5g fiber, 5g sugars, 14g protein PointsPlus® value 5*

Hebrew National Beef Franks - 100 calories a dog

Hebrew National Beef Franks – 100 calories a dog

Smothered Pig in a Blanket with Sweet Potato Fries

Smothered Pig in a Blanket with Sweet Potato Fries

Leave a Reply

