LOW CALORIES CINNAMON ROLLS – 125 per roll and SUPER DELICIOUS!

Okay so this past weekend I made the 65 calories banana and egg pancakes with blueberries, one word – DISGUSTING! Beck, Russell, and I couldn’t eat them! They tasted like an old banana! So that recipe was a bust! BUTTTT I have a good one for you….the cinnamon rolls were WONDERFUL!!! I really was quite impressed! The boys ate them and thought they were yummy as well! This is my new go to for cinnamon rolls without the guilt! I would do 4 egg whites with 1 cinnamon roll and you have a yummy breakfast for around 200 calories! If you can spare a few extra calories I would even throw in a turkey bacon for a little more protein! ANYWAYS, TRY THEM! TRUST ME!! YOU WILL BE PLEASED!!! Some days you just want a bakery item and this will totally satisfy that craving without having the guilt afterwards!

OKAY – FIRST don’t add to much butter or cinnamon/sugar runs out of roll!  I used light brown sugar bc that’s what I had! Don’t put too much flour when rolling it out or the dough won’t roll out easily!

The cinnamon roll recipe is from the hungry girl! If you haven’t checked her out, you may want to! She has some yummy recipes! Not always “clean” but when I want some comfort food she usually has a lighter version that I can partake in without horrible after eating it! This week we will be trying a low cal chili cheese hot dog that she does with those sweet potato fries (a few post ago), I will let you know if it is any good! I usually do a lean meat and veggie for dinner but sometimes I throw in something like these pig in a blanket hot dog above so that the boys get some satisfaction, ha! Since this isn’t “clean” I try to make sure we eat as clean as possible for the rest of the day so it isn’t soooo terrible. Eating low-calorie is good BUT I want my family to be eating things with less chemicals and so forth. A lot (not all) of times she uses things I wouldn’t eat on a day-to-day basis so I even go light on what I cook from her book…usually only 1 item a week sometimes 2 it just depends! Just know that these aren’t the cleanest of meals but they are great when you just need a little fatter tasting food and you have had enough veggies. Like Sunday night, Russell has been craving fried chicken! I told him NO! NOT until a few weeks, I have got to finish burning this last fat layer off, ha! SOOO I compromised and made oven fried chicken…BUT I made that even healthier. I said now this isn’t going to be quite as good as it usually is because I was out of buttermilk (on purpose) AND I didn’t use as much butter as well as I mixed the light butter with coconut oil. HIS reply, SO you made the already healthier recipe even more healthier, grrreeeaaattt…haha He was like oh crap! BUT it tasted good!! He still got the breaded chicken taste! In May I will let him make some Fried Chicken one night! Until then I have to work my butt off!!! PLUS we just had a  BAD cheat weekend last week! I made homemade cornbread for Sunday lunch AND that night we had breakfast for supper so I made homemade biscuits, my mom’s recipe…to DIE for!!

Time wise they were pretty quick to make!! I would have taken a photo but we were running extremely late for church so we ate quick and moved on!! Next time I make I will update these with a photo!!

Gooey Cinnamon Rolls With Cream  Cheese Icing (HUNGRY GIRL COOKBOOK)

PER SERVING (1 iced roll): 125 calories, 5g fat, 308mg sodium, 18.5g carbs, <0.5g fiber, 6.5g sugars, 3g protein

Ingredients
Filling
1/4 cup dark brown sugar (not packed)
1/4 cup granulated no-calorie sweetener
1/2 tbsp. light whipped butter or light buttery spread, room temperature
1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/8 tsp. salt

Icing
1/4 cup fat-free whipped topping, thawed from frozen
3 tbsp. fat-free cream cheese, room temperature
1 tbsp. granulated no-calorie sweetener

Dough
1 package reduced-fat crescent rolls refrigerated dough
16 sprays no-calorie spray butter
Directions
To make filling, combine all ingredients in a medium bowl, stirring well to make sure the butter
gets mixed in evenly. Set aside.

To make icing, combine all ingredients in a small bowl and mix until smooth and blended. Place
in the fridge to chill and set.

Prepare a dry surface by sprinkling it with a small amount of flour to prevent sticking. Remove dough from package and knead into a ball. Using a rolling pin dusted lightly with flour, very firmly roll out dough into a thin sheet about 8″ X 12″. Spray the dough’s surface evenly with butter. 
Spread filling out evenly over dough, leaving a half-inch border around the edges. Starting
with a long side of the dough, roll it up tightly, forming a log. Once dough is completely rolled
up, pinch the long seam to seal.

Turn the log over so that the seam is facing down. Using a very sharp knife, cut log into 8
even pieces, being careful not to squish dough.

Spray a baking pan with nonstick spray and arrange pieces of dough in the pan with swirl sides
facing up. Use your hands to firmly press down on the tops of the pieces. Pinch the side seams
to seal, if necessary.

Cover pan with aluminum foil. Bake in the oven for 8 minutes.

Remove foil and return pan to oven. Bake for an additional 5 minutes, or until cinnamon rolls
have risen and are slightly browned on top.

Evenly distribute icing over cinnamon rolls and then enjoy!

MAKES 8 SERVINGS
A serving of the original recipe has 250 calories and 15g fat!

Leave a Reply

