DM & Hungry Girl Guacamole Dip

So I posted a REALLY REALLY REALLY GOOD recipe for Guacamole a couple of weeks ago which isn’t terrible on the calories either!! That recipe I would take anywhere!! I took to supper club last year and it was a hit!! The hungry girl guacamole dip is a great version to have during the week or whenever you want to have a little indulgence without blowing your calories for the day! Though the two recipes side my side might be similar in calories because the other one doesn’t call for yogurt and I add a little extra avocado to take care of the green pea flavor –  This would also be great on tacos, salads, sandwiches, etc..!!

Look for yourself below at the two recipes – but I estimated around 600 calories for the Delta Magazine recipe. The hungry girl is 78 calories for 1/6th of the recipe…… So honestly I think I would just use the Delta Magazine one BECAUSE IT IS JUST SO DELICIOUS!! WORTH THE CALORIES! The hungry girl one is good but not nearly as good at the DM! I think it just depends on how much I really want to eat on which one I will make! If I want quality over quantity then I will pick DM if I want to pig out then Hungry Girl.

HERE IS THE DELTA MAGAZINE ONE – THAT I JUST ADORE!!!! THIS I POSTED A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO UNDER HEALTHY EATING!

I LOVE guacamole dip but a lot of times it is hard to find a really good recipe! Well, guess what? Here it is just in time for spring and summer! Straight from the Delta Magazine Cookbook from Babalu Tacos + Tapas in the Fondren District-Jackson, MS.

  • 2 avocados, halved and seeded
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon finely minced red onion
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons chopped sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon green onions, thinly sliced on the bias
  • salt to taste (1/2 tsp. or more)

slice, spoon, and scoop avocado in one fell swoop into a bowl. Pour lime juice over avocado to coat evenly. Follow with remaining ingredients, making sure you sprinkle salt over all ingredients to season well. Smash but be sure to leave some of the mixture a little chunky. Serve with corn chips!

Serves two to four people

When I make the hungry girl recipe – I add a half avocado more – 2 tsps. more lime juice and  lots of cilantro! I actually taste as I make it and add extra of the spices that I think it needs! MAKE sure to mash the peas really good! I wondered what putting them in my ninja would do, I am going to try that next time instead of flattening by hand, less time the better! I like less tomatoes in mine, you may like more! So adjust to your taste! 

Recipe from The Hungry Girl Cookbook – she really does have some good ones!

HOLY MOLY GUACAMOLE by THE HUNGRY GIRL ” Lisa Lillien

Ingredients:

One 15-oz. can early/young peas, drained
1/2 cup mashed avocado (about 1 medium avocado’s worth)
1/4 cup fat-free plain Greek yogurt 
4 tsp. lime juice
1/2 tsp. minced garlic
1/4 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. black pepper
1/8 tsp. ground cumin
1/8 tsp. chili powder
1/3 cup chopped cherry or grape tomatoes
1/4 cup finely chopped onion
Optional: chopped fresh cilantro, chopped jarred jalapeños, additional salt and black pepper

DIRECTIONS:

Place drained peas in a medium bowl and mash thoroughly with a potato masher or fork. (Or puree peas in a small blender or food processor and transfer to a medium bowl.) Add avocado, yogurt, lime juice, garlic, and seasonings. Continue to mash until blended.

Stir in tomatoes, onion and, if you like, some cilantro and/or jalapeños. Season to taste with additional salt and pepper (optional). Enjoy!

MAKES 6 SERVINGS

PER SERVING (1/6th of recipe, about 1/3 cup): 78 calories, 3g fat, 320mg sodium, 10.5g carbs, 3.5g fiber, 4g sugars, 3.5g protein — PointsPlus® value 2*

Prep: 20 minutes

I usually try to by the thin tortillas so they are a little less calories! Look into that! I already had these leftover from a party so I just used these.

I usually try to by the thin tortillas so they are a little less calories! Look into that! I already had these leftover from a party so I just used these.

Leave a Reply

