Pulled Pork Sandwhiches

So I tried this recipe from food,faith,fitness! She does a lighter take on foods. Sometimes they are lighter BUT doesn’t necessarily mean they ARE LIGHT!!! SO keep that in mind! I made the pulled pork sandwiches and then used the leftovers to make the lighter BBQ PORK MAC ‘N CHEESE WITH CARAMELIZED ONIONS…lighter yes but def. not LIGHT! WAS YUMMY! Go over and check it out at her website if you want to try the mac n cheese! Just keep in mind what I said about light!
Thanks TAYLOR @ food, faith, & fitness! Great job again!!!
OKAY SO- I first off had to get a 6 pound pork shoulder so I froze the other half and will use in a few weeks. I couldn’t find the adobe sauce so I didn’t use. I didn’t mix my avocado ranch in the blender, I just mixed it really good and mashed it in a bowl. I poured my avocado ranch sauce into the slaw and mixed it around in the slaw. I didn’t use all of it, I use just enough to coat the slaw (I was trying to make it even lighter). I couldn’t find light barb-q sauce so we just used regular and used less. I forgot to get the light ranch so we just used regular ranch and less of it. Though Russell and I said we think the light ranch would’ve tasted awful in it. 
I wondered what it would taste like if I did greek yogurt in there – maybe used ranch seasoning instead of actual ranch –  OF course you can always go even lighter and not use the slaw!! IT’S still great without it!! The second day for lunch we didn’t use the slaw, trying to have fewer calories AND the 2nd day the sauce looked a little on the yucky side after sitting all night.  IF you are trying to really watch it – take off the top bun to save an extra 50 calories and eat it open faced with a fork! I also don’t mix my barb-b-q sauce with the meat, it makes me use more sauce. I just use the plain meat and drizzle it on top so that I use less.
So below is the picture I took of the one I made, this is a bigger one (it was Russells)! We usually use ABE’S Barb-B-Q sauce (love my Abe’s – I am from Clarksdale, MS ..Home of the Blues… Abe’s is at “The Crossroads” Where Robert Johnson sold his soul to the devil…Whenever I get a chance to stop by I do) or Sweet Baby Ray’s 
Pulled Pork Sandwhich - Will add recipe to blog! and SWEET POTATO FRIES!!

Pulled Pork Sandwich and SWEET POTATO FRIES!!

Next to the pulled pork sandwich is the sweet potato fries I will be talking about in a few days, those I made
with coconut oil!
CROCKPOT CHIPOTLE PULLED PORK WITH AVOCADO RANCH SAUCE {WHOLE WHEAT}

PREP TIME
15 mins
COOK TIME
8 hours
TOTAL TIME
8 hours 15 mins
Author: Tate
Serves: 8-10
INGREDIENTS
  • For the pork:
  • 1 Medium yellow onion, sliced
  • 2 Tbsps Fresh garlic, minced
  • 3½ – 4 Lbs Pork shoulder, excess fat removed.
  • For the spice rub:
  • 1 Tbsp Brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp Salt
  • ¼ tsp Smoked paprika
  • ½ tsp Cumin powder
  • 1 tsp Chili powder
  • ½ Tbsp Adobo sauce (from a can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce)
  • 1 Cup Water
  • For the Avocado Ranch Sauce:
  • 1 Small avocado, mashed (about ½ cup)
  • 2 Tbsp Fresh garlic, minced
  • ½ Cup + 2 Tbsp Low-fat or fat-free Ranch dressing of choice
  • 1 Tbsp + 1 tsp Adobo sauce
  • ¼ tsp Smoked paprika
  • 2 tsps Onion powder
  • ½ tsp Chili powder
  • Salt/pepper to taste
  • Whole wheat hamburger buns
  • Coleslaw mix for garnish (optional)
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. For the pork:
  2. Slice the onion and mince the garlic and place it in the bottom of your crock pot. Pour in 1 cup of water.
  3. Combine all the spices for the spice rub in a small bowl and set aside.
  4. Cut any huge, visible chunks of fat off your pork shoulder and then rub it all over with the spice rub, until it is evenly coated.
  5. Place the pork on top of the onions, garlic and water and cook until it is tender and moist, 6-8 hours on high or 8-10 hours on low.
  6. Once the pork is cooked, strain the liquid out of the crock pot and place the solids (which is made up of the onions and garlic) back into the crock pot.
  7. Transfer the pork onto a cutting board and shred with 2 forks.
  8. Transfer the shredded pork back into the crock pot and mix with the onions and garlic. Cover and keep warm until ready to serve.
  9. Combine all the sauce ingredients in a food processor and blend until completely smooth and creamy. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  10. Serve the pulled pork on a whole wheat bun, topped with coleslaw mix and lots and lots of chipotle sauce.
  11. Devour!

http://www.foodfaithfitness.com/crockpot-chipotle-pulled-pork-with-avocado-ranch-sauce/

Leave a Reply

