Cauliflower Pizza Bites – Low Cal and Very Delicious

A girl I work with came in last week and told me about how yummy these were, so of course I had to try! Welll the Dashing Dish has done it again! She is very, AND I MEAN VERY, good at creating healthy and yummy recipes!

Pizza Bites!

Pizza Bites!

I made these last night and I used two different recipes, basically I used the one below (from the dashing dish) but I DOUBLED the recipe!! So it made 24, plenty for all 4 of us! I also added salt to mine! I used 1 whole egg and 1 egg white in mine. I also used shredded Parmesan and the green bottle Parmesan (I mixed them,to equal my 1/2 cup) The other recipe used thyme instead of basil. I did like the other recipe and didn’t put in turkey pepperonis in the actual pizza bite. I only put them on top of some pizza bites. (I was worried they might be to rubbery, so I wanted to try them plain first)! We also added mild peperoncinis to the tops of them (Russell put the whole pepper on top, not me…mine was just a sliver – it definitely gave it the kick it needed) I cooked mine for 30 mins, I was scared of browning too much but I will probably keep in just a little longer next time. I did like the other recipe and sprayed the pan with canola oil and put a little water in the bottom of the mini muffin pan so that the spray wouldn’t burn in the oven. I used my ninja to chop up the cauliflower, I had to do it two separate times since I doubled the mixture. The boys liked and Russell and I were soo full! I ate 9 with a small side salad and could barely breathe! They are great leftovers as well, for snack or a  meal. I like them plain, but really liked them with the pizza sauce! 

          Go to dashing dish to get nutrition info! But they are around 20 calories each!                                                                                                                                                                           

They were pretty quick to make, healthy, and very little to clean up! Try them!!            

I made some plain and others with the turkey peps on top!

I made some plain and others with the turkey peps on top!

Below is the recipe or you can click on the dashing dish link below and go straight to it!

Ingredients

2 cups Cauliflower (about 1/2 head of cauliflower)
1/4 cup Egg whites (or 1 large egg white)
1/8 cup Low fat cottage cheese
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
1/2 tsp Dried oregano 1
1/2 tsp Dried basil 1
1/4 tsp Garlic powder
1/4 cup Mini turkey pepperoni’s (or regular size turkey pepperoni cut into quarters) 2
Optional Topping: Additional pepperoni’s to place on top just before cooking

1 Or you could use 1 tsp Dried Italian Seasoning.

2 Turkey pepperoni’s are often found next to the bacon in your local grocery store.

Method

THE ESTIMATED TOTAL TIME TO MAKE THIS RECIPE IS 40-45 MINUTES.

1 Preheat oven to 425. Line 14 mini muffin cups with silicone liners, or foil muffin liners with paper liners removed. Spray liners with non-stick cooking spray. Set aside.
2 Wash cauliflower, and cut in half, (save the rest for later). Break cauliflower into segments, and place in food processor. Pulse until it reaches a rice-like texture.
3 Place cauliflower in microwave safe bowl and microwave for 8 minutes. (Do NOT add water or cover).
4 Remove cauliflower from microwave and add the rest of the ingredients. Stir to combine. Place back in microwave for 2 minutes. Mix again.
5 Scoop cauliflower mixture into muffin liners, dividing evenly between the 14 mini liners. Fill to the top, and press filling down so it’s compact in liner.
6 Place muffin tin in the oven and bake muffins for 30-35 minutes, or when top starts to become golden brown. Remove from the oven, let cool completely before popping the muffins out of the liners. Serve warm with pizza sauce for dipping!

Click on the dashing dish link below for the recipe:

http://dashingdish.com/recipe/mini-cauliflower-pizza-bites/

7 thoughts on “Cauliflower Pizza Bites – Low Cal and Very Delicious

    • HAHA! Yes, that is my big thing, healthy! I may have a thin crust pizza once in while but I can use these to help tide me over until I get the real deal!

Leave a Reply

