EASY, lighter version – Oreo Pudding Dessert – around 250 calories per slice

YUMMY!

YUMMY!

Okay so I have had this recipe for years now and have no idea where it came from! I think maybe a magazine, anyways. I made it on Valentines weekend for the boys to have a little happy! So yummy and good, then I started thinking I wonder if I can make this light….now I KNOW it still has Oreo’s (those aren’t light) BUT this is a lighter version of what it was!!!! I would rather have this than a candy bar!! I actually felt like I was having a dessert!! and really when you break it down I am only eating 2  oreo’s per slice pretty much.

NOW don’t get me wrong you can’t eat the whole entire thing! BUT my boys ate the lighter version and didn’t mind it at all and I enjoyed it! I estimated around 250 calories for a 3 inch by 3 inch piece. I figured the 9×13 pan has around 3,000 calories – THIS IS JUST an estimation when I was adding up the calories! It serves around 12 people with the 3 inch by 3 inch slices. It could be around 230 calories a slice if you leave out the butter and coconut oil!

YOU can def. make it lighter by using less whip cream on the top – I used a whole large tub of it – just so I could keep track of calories but next time I will use less!

  • 1 package of Oreo’s
  • 3 cups 2% milk
  • 2 small boxes of instant chocolate pudding – sugar free -fat free
  • 1 box of chocolate honey grahams (all they had was avengers cookie ones so I used those)
  • optional: coconut oil or a little butter (will talk about this in a minute)
  • 1 large cool whip – LIGHT – buy actual cool whip brand it holds up better in frig than the cheaper brand – i did the cheaper brand the other day and 

Crush about 15 Oreos and about 35 chocolate honey grahams cookies and mix together. (NOW- this is your choice!! I used 1 tbsp of melted butter with 1 tbsp of coconut oil melted and mixed it in with the Oreo mixture – you are supposed to use a whole stick of butter to make it like a crust – BUT the pudding falls down in there and makes it stick together anyways – so just using the tbsp of butter and oil did fine – ALSO next time I will try without butter and oil to see how it does, to make it even lighter) Place Oreo’s and chocolate grahams in the bottom of a 9×13 pan. Mix up 2 instant chocolate puddings with 3 cups milk, to make a pudding mixture. Pour on top of the Oreo’s. Place cool whip on top and crumble 4 or 5 cookies on top of the cool whip for decoration. Put in refrigerator until time to serve.

A few things here: You can add less or more Oreo’s on the bottom and top depending on your preference. You can use less or more chocolate honey grahams depending on your preference. TOTAL: I only used 1 sleeve (12 cookies) and not quite and entire sleeve (I used 9 on that sleeve) for the entire dessert. I estimated I used around 30-35 chocolate grahams to help bind the Oreo’s together since I was using less.

ALSO – you can save a lot of calories with less cool whip – so if you can get by with just a light layer on the top that would be best – I estimated that the tub had around 1,000 calories for the light version – YEP. It was 20 calories per 2 tbsp and there was 50 servings.

I like this better the longer it sits in the frig –  best when it has been sitting for a day or two in the frig, the Oreo’s get soft and create this yummy soft creamy texture.

AND talk about easy – Probably takes me 5-10 minutes to make! love to whip it up on the weekends for the boys and hey I can have some too without feeling like I just blew my calories for the day!

IF you are somebody that can’t keep the dessert around without eating the ENTIRE thing – cut the recipe in half and use a smaller pan – that way there isn’t leftovers!

EASY and FAST to make and GREAT FOR SPRING AND SUMMER Desserts since it is cold!

SEE photo above: See what I mean, the cheaper cool whip is runny and the real cool whip brand didn’t do that AT ALL!

Leave a Reply

