Do you have the COURAGE?

courage to start

Change is scary. No matter what the change is small or large it is nerve-wracking and most of the time we resist it. Change does take time before it seems “normal” to you. Trading french fries for an apple, devotional time instead of tv time, workout time instead of sitting on the couch time..whatever it is, its hard to do. 

I have had so many people tell me they are scared. Why are they scared??? They are scared of failure and they are scared that people will see them fail. I have some girls so nervous about running this half. What if I am dead last? What if I can’t make it? What if? What if? What if?  So I tell them, WHO CARES! Who cares if you are last? No one is going to remember that! You WILL make it, there are stops along the way and who says you can’t walk some of it? I ran my first 10k in September and I came in like 3rd from last. HA! My husband ran with me to encourage me but at one point told me I was killing his soul, he hates to lose and is a way faster runner than I am. (he is an encourager! he is the one who first mentioned me running a half!) I shook it off. I shook off his feelings, I shook off the people way ahead of me. I shook off the embarrassment of being 3rd from last. I shook off the few people I did beat. It wasn’t about anyone but ME! I didn’t care about my time I only cared about finishing! AND I DID! Now, I can run 6 miles with no problem. I just ran a 5k a few weeks ago and kept a 10:45 pace. I am slowly getting better and better because I am pushing myself without being scared to fail! I will fail at points because that is life! We all fail at times. I am just proud of myself. I had Noah on March 1st 2013, waited to be cleared from my c-section and then started towards my goal. In less than a year I will have run my first 10k and my first half marathon! I am proud that I had the courage to do these things! I didn’t let being scared stop me! I had the courage to do it, no matter what! I am not embarrassed that it took me 1 hour and 12 minutes to run 6 miles! It was my first 10k EVER and I had a 3 1/2 year old son along with a 6 month old baby that had a double ear infection 2 nights before where I had never even got in bed, baked a cake with him for my mother-in-laws 60th birthday at 1:00 am holding a baby and went to work the next day…I was up an ENTIRE 24 hours! The next night he slept a little better thanks to the doctor but he was still up at different hours. I didn’t let being EXHAUSTED stop me! I had been training for that 10k and I WAS going to finish!

I will not let what others think or say about me stop me from what I want to try and accomplish! I will FIGHT! I will have the STRENGTH! I will FINISH! I WILL HAVE THE COURAGE! JUST WATCH ME!!

2 thoughts on “Do you have the COURAGE?

  1. I was inspired again, Rivers! Keep up the good work! I’ve been keeping up with your daily spiels that are always thought-provoking.

Leave a Reply

