It is a soup kind a night…….

Okay so this may not be healthy, but it sure is good! Some days are just good soup days and today is one of those days! I will be eating light (a lot of veggies and fruits) today so that I can have a bowl of this soup tonight! It is Friday so tonight will be my splurge of the week! I made this and it is soooo good!I have had several people ask about it. I cooked mine on the stove, just because I didn’t have time to do the crock pot before I left. I added the spinach near the end, I like mine soft but not so soft that it has a weird texture. I used jar sauce and added the ground beef and browned Italian sausage. People who tried to make it lighter had issues, so be careful if you do. See below:
Make a salad to go with it and some bread (I made a quick homemade bread and man was it delicious to with the soup….I only had 1 piece (portion control, even though it is hard!!) Eat a BIG salad, and then have a small bowl of this soup with a SMALL piece of bread ..or NONE if you can! Don’t deprive yourself 24/7. If you do, then a binge is just waiting to happen.Have some soup, just know your portion sizes!
Creamy Slow-Cooker Tortellini Soup
Ingredients
  • 6 cups of your favorite homemade meaty spaghetti sauce or 24 oz jar prepared spaghetti sauce + 1/2 lb browned ground beef + 1/2 lb browned Italian sausage
  • 1/2 bag (4.5 oz) fresh spinach leaves
  • 4 C chicken broth
  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 8 oz sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 16 oz frozen cheese tortellini

Instructions

  1. Combine spaghetti sauce (and meat if adding it in separately), spinach, cream cheese, chicken broth, and mushrooms in a slow-cooker. Cook on low for 6 hours, on high for 2-3.
  2. 20 minutes before serving, turn heat to high if it isn’t already an stir in frozen tortellini. Cover and cook for 15 minutes or until tender and hot.
  3. Serve topped with Parmesan cheese.
Some readers have had problems with using low-fat and fat-free cream cheeses as they curdle and don’t blend well into the soup. I’ve personally used Neuftachel cheese without any problem, but to be on the safe side I recommend using regular cream cheese. Also the spinach can be added at the end with the tortellini if you would like it to not break down as much.
Recipe above is from Heather – the link is below:

 

Leave a Reply

